Daytona Beach DUI Defense Lawyer
If you have been arrested for DUI (DWI/drunk driving) in Florida, there is a lot on the line. In addition to having your driver's license revoked, you could also face heavy fines, mandatory community service and time-consuming traffic school. You could even spend time in jail.
Criminal defense attorney, Douglas Williams, helps drivers retain their licenses and fight unreasonable sentences. If your ability to drive has been threatened, get the defense you need now.
Call us at 386-290-0622 to arrange a consultation with an experienced DUI defense lawyer.
Fighting DUI Charges In Florida
If you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Florida, you can lose your license immediately. First-time offenders could lose driving privileges for 180 days or up to a full year. Situations that result in serious injury to other drivers demand at least three years' suspension from the road.
After being arrested for a DUI, you will need to go to court for an arraignment, trial and sentencing. If there were no injuries, first-time offenses will most often be classified as misdemeanors. However, if there was a serious injury or death that results from the DUI, you could be facing felony charges and end up in state prison for over a year.
As is true in any case that involves you being arrested, you need to ask yourself some basic questions about the circumstances of your arrest, including:
- Was your arrest based on reasonable grounds?
- Did you refuse or fail the Breathalyzer test?
- Were you made aware of the consequences if you failed or refused the test?
Williams is determined to help each of his clients defeat his or her DUI/DWI charge. He seeks to get drunk driving charges dismissed whenever possible. When the driver faces an uphill battle against an indisputable BAC level, he helps him or her to minimize their sentence with a strong defense.
Did You Refuse The Breath Test?
In Florida, refusing the breath test is not illegal, but will result in administrative penalties, including a 12-month driver's license suspension. If you refused for the first time, you will be eligible to obtain a hardship license after 90 days. Deciding whether to blow or not to blow can only be determined on a case-by-case basis. Talk to an experienced DUI defense lawyer to learn how the law applies in your situation.
Challenging Breath Tests
Just because you blew above the legal limit (.08), it does not mean the state has an open and shut case against you. In Florida, problems with the Intoxilyzer 8000 breath test machine are well-documented. These machines must be properly used, maintained and calibrated for breath test results to hold up in court. We seize upon weaknesses in breath test evidence to help our clients avoid DUI convictions.
Traffic offenses in Florida operate on a point system. Drivers accrue negative points from various offenses like running a red light, improper lane usage, construction zone speeding, or even leaving the scene of an accident prematurely. If more than 12 points are accrued within a yearlong period, your license will be revoked for six months; the license revocation period increases exponentially with more points, even when they occur within longer intervals of time.
If you risk losing your ability to drive due to multiple traffic offenses, contact attorney Douglas Williams. He can help you eradicate or minimize your sentence as soon as possible.
License Revocation Hearings
License revocation hearings, or administrative review hearings, are urgent pleas from drivers facing DUI/DWI charges, or any other traffic offense that results in loss of license. Drivers only have 10 days from the date of their DUI/DWI arrest to request a formal administrative review hearing.
It is important to act quickly. Do not wait for the dust to settle — secure the defense of a lawyer who will fiercely oppose your charges as soon as possible.
DUI Boating Offenses
Laws for inebriated boaters are just as strict as DUIs that occur on the land. Many boating accidents that occur as a result of boating under the influence incur serious fines and even months of imprisonment. An accident that caused serious injury or significant property damage is a felony.
Contact Williams For Strong Drunk Driving Defense
If you face drunk driving charges in Florida, Williams is here to stand up for your rights. Contact him online or by telephone at 386-290-0622 to arrange a confidential consultation..